Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body for the William Holmes McGuffey School Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization. The Foundation operates the McGuffey Montessori School and foundation members are parents or guardians of enrolled students.

Board of Trustees, 2018-19
Ashley Johnson, Chair* (term ends June 2020)
Megan Gerhardt, Vice Chair* (term ends June 2019)
Neal Sullivan, Treasurer* (term ends June 2021)
Chris Taylor, Secretary* (term ends June 2020)
Darrel Davis, Member at Large (term ends June 2021)
Jill Kist, Member at Large (term ends June 2021)
Jon Pyzoha, Member at Large (term ends June 2019)
Community Member Vacancy (seeking applicants)
Mike Desmier, Business Manager, Non-voting Member*
Nancy Hawthorne, Head of School, Non-voting Member*
*Board Executive Committee, elected annually

The primary responsibility of the Board is to set policy which supports the long-term health of the school. Their role includes hiring, supporting and evaluating the Head of School while the Head of School and the staff handle day-to-day school operations.

To apply for a position on the board of trustees or to nominate someone, please send a completed application to the board.

The trustees meet monthly. Meeting dates are posted on the school public calendar. Board meetings are open to the membership (parents and guardians) from 7-7:30pm. At 7:30pm the board goes into executive session.

Elections are typically held in the spring semester for three-year terms beginning July 1. Mid-term vacancies may be filled by special election. It is always helpful to have a list of parents who are interested in serving on the board. The best board candidates have leadership and networking qualities, have been involved in a variety of school-related activities, and can bring a needed expertise or perspective to their role or to the school.

Minutes from past Board meetings can be found here.
The Foundation Bylaws are here.

If you have any questions, please contact the Board at the following email address, These emails are read by the board and the Head of School.

Comments are closed.